Call for Entries Open, IES 2017 Illumination Awards

Submissions will be accepted until February 17 at 11:59 p.m.

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
IES Illumination Awards

IES’ 2017 Illumination Awards submissions are now being accepted via the Illumination Award portal until February 17 at 11:59 p.m.

Illumination Award Categories include:

Lighting Control Innovation This award recognizes good lighting projects that exemplify the effective use of lighting controls in nonresidential applications.
Sponsored by the Lighting Controls Assn.

Interior Design This accolade recognizes exceptional interior lighting projects that balance the functional illumination space with the artistic application of light to enhance the occupant’s experience.
Sponsored by Edwin Guth

Outdoor Lighting Design The award celebrates excellence in lighting design and applications in all aspects of exterior lighting. The program recognizes achievements in aesthetics, applied technical acumen, creative solutions to demanding site conditions and advancements to the industry in outdoor lighting applications. The goal is to further the understanding, knowledge and function of outdoor lighting as a critical aspect of the built environment.
Sponsored by Eaton

Energy and Environmental Lighting Design This award highlights quality lighting installations in commercial and industrial buildings that incorporate advanced energy-saving strategies and environmentally responsible solutions in the overall design.

Illumination Award levels are as follows:

Section Awards - Awarded at the local section level. Projects that score adequately at the section move up for additional judging in the global judging, becoming eligible for the awards noted below.

Awards of Merit - Recognizes meritorious contribution to lighting design

Special Citation - Recognizes superior elements for a portion of a project

Award of Excellence - Awarded for an exceptional contribution to the art and science of light

Award of Distinction - Awarded for extraordinary achievement in lighting design

Illumination Award recipients will be honored at the Illumination Awards Gala held during the IES Annual Conference in Portland, August 10-12.

leaderboard2 - default