HFA Announces Retailer of the Year Winners

The awards celebrate excellence among home furnishings retailers. 

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email

The Home Furnishings Association announced the winners of its 2017 Retailer of the Year awards, which recognize retailers who exhibit exceptional samples of philanthropy, technology, customer experience, mentoring, sustainability and store design/merchandising.

Father and son David and Brad Schweig of Sunnyland Outdoor Furniture in Dallas won in the category of businesses with a sales volume under $10 million. Sunnyland, a 47 year-old company, is the largest outdoor and patio casual furniture store in Texas and the first casual furniture retailer to win HFA’s Retailer of the Year Award. David Schweig says he prides himself on working in an industry “whose primary purpose is to improve the quality of life of customers by providing them with comfort and relaxation.”

CEO of Hudson’s Furniture Joshua Hudson is the Retailer of the Year in the category of businesses with a sales volume of more than $10 million. The family-owned business founded in 1981 operates 14 showrooms and three outlet centers. “I have a genuine love for teaching others and a strong desire to build on my family business legacy," Hudson says. 

Cynthia Heathcoe, owner of Contemporary Living in Palm Beach Gardens, FL won this year’s Emerging Star award. Jake Jabs, founder of American Furniture Warehouse in Englewood, CO is this year’s Trailblazer. Heathcoe and Jabs will be recognized during the Retailer of the Year celebration at the HFA Networking Conference in June.

“Congratulations to David, Brad, Josh, Cynthia and Jake,” said HFA CEO Sharron Bradley. “I think our winners this year accurately represent the variety and diversity of home furnishings retailers across the country; they’re a true glimpse into what it takes to be successful in today’s economy. Each of these HFA members strives to give their customers a remarkable shopping experience, work with the best employees, give back to their communities and be active, thoughtful members of their industry. We’re happy to celebrate their accomplishments.”

Leave a Comment