Home Furnishings Association Names 22 Awards Finalists

Winners of the Retailer of the Year, Emerging Star and Trailblazer Awards will be announced at the January 2020 Las Vegas Market.

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
Home Furnishings Association awards

The Home Furnishings Association (HFA) has announced 22 finalists for the association’s annual Retailer of the Year, Emerging Star and Trailblazer awards.

The finalists, who range from Top 100 stores to local, family-owned retailers, were among 31 retailers nominated by their peers, manufacturers, vendors, and furniture reps. The winning retailers will be selected by a panel of judges across all walks of the furniture industry.

Sharron Bradley, CEO of the HFA, said those judges would have their work cut out in the coming weeks. “It’s an impressive list of finalists,” said Bradley. “Each of them creates a unique, personalized shopping experience and is an integral part of their community. They’re wonderful models for our industry.”

Here’s a look at the finalists and the awards they’ve been nominated for:

Large Retailer of the Year

The Large Retailer of the Year honors a retailer with 50 or more employees who exhibit exceptional philanthropy, technology, customer experience, mentoring, sustainabilit, and store culture. There are four finalists: City Furniture in Tamarac, FL; American Furniture Galleries in Sacramento, CA; Exclusive Furniture in Houston; and Howell Furniture Galleries in Beaumont, TX.

Small Retailer of the Year

The Small Retailer of the Year honors a retailer with fewer than 50 employees who exhibit exceptional philanthropy, technology, customer experience, mentoring sustainability, and store culture. There are 11 finalists: Flamingo Furniture in Brooklyn, NY; Rider Furniture in Kingston, NJ; Blackmon’s Furniture & Appliance in El Dorado, AR; A Royal Suite in Southern California; Brakenridge Furniture Co., in Ferriday, LA; Quality Furniture in Fresno, CA; Hoot Judkins Furniture in Redwood City, CA; Lipmann’s Furniture & Interiors in Peoria, IL; Ashley HomeStore inVictoria, TX; Wasser’s Exclusive Furniture & Interiors in Hallandale Beach, FL; and Joplimo Mattress in Joplin, MO.

Emerging Star

The Emerging Star award honors a retailer under 40 years old who’s been in business for three to five years. There are four Emerging Star finalists: Joel Haimsohn of Lawrence Furniture in San Diego; RandiLynn Talsma of Blended Furniture in Norton Shores, MI; Jared Simon of Simon Furniture in Franklin, MA; and Joe Bright of Dunk & Bright Furniture in Syracuse, NY.


The Trailblazer award honors a retailer who has been in business for at least 20 years. There are three Emerging Star finalists: Greg Crowley of Crowley Furniture in Kansas City, MO; Nick Reena of Barr’s Furniture in Riverside, CA; and Diane Lackey of The Decorator’s Edge in Thomasville, NC.

Winners will be announced in their stores January 6-10 and celebrated at the HFA’s resource center on January 25 during Las Vegas Market.

Related Content

showroom of the year judges bobby berk, melissa galt, caroline hipple
Meet our Showroom of the Year Judges: Bobby Berk, Melissa Galt and Caroline Hipple.
Three expert judges will make selections for the 11th annual Showroom of the Year Awards, present
Entries are now being accepted for the International Society of Furniture Designers (ISFD) 
ARTS Awards
Michael Amini accepts the Academy of Achievement Award at the 31st annual ARTS Awards.
ART and Dallas Market Center announced the winners of the 31st annual ARTS Awards Jan.