Idea Board: The Language of Design

06/26/2017
Patti Carpenter explores international design in this Idea Board.

In my world as a Global Trend Ambassador for both AmericasMart Atlanta and Maison & Objet in Paris, I utilize the Language of Design as the method that mobilizes my movement around the globe. I now define trend via my own set of ever-evolving ABCs.

A is for Adventure these days: Enhanced experiences and emotion influence our product selections. Traveling to remote destinations to absorb the culture while being educated in its craft augments our understanding. B is for Beautiful, and beauty beyond the physical piece itself: the beauty that is found in sustainable materials, resourcefulness, vision and the exchange of ideas. C is for Craftsmanship: the touch of a hand, the unique qualities of a particular material, and the soul that an artist’s touch brings to the products that will populate and add warmth to our environments.

Employing this Language of Design permits a more profound bond with each product. Meaning meets manufacturing, and trend emerges through transparency. 

Working through the alphabet is not sequential. Tendencies emerge as the developments dictate. Trends that are top of mind at the moment are colorful, innovative, warm and inviting. 

O is for Orchid Petal

Ripe and rich and full of flavor, this luscious color sits firmly at the intersection of pretty and powerful. Reddened and ravishing seating and home textiles erupt in succulent and saturated color. Orchid petal adds that delicious pop.

 

chair

Metric Objet chair www.meeloa.com

 

rug

Essential Home Coppola rug www.essentialhome.eu

 

vases

Louise Roe Jewel vases www.louiseroe.dk

 

armchair

Brabbu Begonia armchair www.brabbu.com

 

pillow

Birgit Morgenstern Studio Hortensien pillow  www.birgitmorgenstern.de

 

glass candle

Arcade Vitrum glass candle  www.arcadevitrum.com

T is for Tropical

Whether our focus is turned towards rainforests or retreats, seaside or sanctuary, a trek to the tropics is beckoning us. Palm patterns and leafy green shades abound. Crisp and clean imagery and large-scale motifs are slightly retro-inspired and take us south of our borders. Greens refresh and restore and the tendencies toward Tropical are a natural response.

 

cushions

Takaokaya Ojami cushion www.takaoka-kyoto.jp

 

dinnerware

Fürstenberg Aureole Coloree dinnerware www.fuerstenberg-porzellan.com

 

toucan hook

Drugeot Labo Toucan hook www.drugeotlabo.com

 

velvet chair

Witch and Watchman Amazonia Light velvet fabric www.witchandwatchman.com

 

cushion cover

Laizze Lucie Rati cushion cover www.laissezluciefaire.com

 

lamp

Tedzukuri Hitari lamp www.tedzukuriatelier.com

 

canvas

CM Creation Painted Blue Palm canvas www.cmcreation.com

 

lounge

Solo Athens Lounge Puges www.soloathens.com

M is for Molten

Browns influence metallics and they become molten, deepening and warming from the current copper craze or brilliant rose gold. Glimmering glints of luster offer us a sophisticated spark and a hint of vintage glamour. Smooth and sensuous surfaces, as well as molded and faceted facades, offer up lightplay and possibilities for reflection.

 

mirror

Cinabre Gallery Ecorce mirror www.cinabre.com

 

lamp

Neoz Tall Poppy lamp www.neoz.com.au

 

armchair

DÔME DECO Verdon armchair www.domedeco.com

 

chaise

Koket Zebra chaise www.bykoket.com

 

stool

Haymann Wave stool www.haymanneditions.fr

 

 

pendant

Bomma Soap pendant www.bomma.cz

 

pillow

DÔME DECO Tom pillow www.domedeco.com

 

bowl

Klaar Prims Glass & Craft Amorf bowl www.klaarprims.be

 

P is for Pretty & Pale

Barely there colors — chalky and dusted — are serene and subtle without being saccharine. Creamy colored whites work on casually crinkled textiles, as well as simple shapes in ceramics. Tinted tones decorate decor in matte and muted mystery. 

 

cup

Ozeclore cup  www.ozeclore.fr

 

vases

Feinedinge Royals vases www.feinedinge.at

 

bowls

Cécile Preziosa bowls www.cecilepreziosa.com

 

pillows

Chic Antique pillows www.chicantique.dk

 

bowl

Muuto bowl  www.muuto.com

rug

Thibault Van Renne Iceberg rug www.thibaultvanrenne.com

 

 

stool

Material by Fernando Mastrangelo stool www.m-material.com

placemat

Mars & More placemat www.marsmore.com

 

S is for Silence 

There is so much noise in our world. We have become accustomed to an onslaught of acoustic attacks and visual excess. We seek solace in the simplicity of color and configuration. We exhale at the sight of crisp, clean white in rounded forms that effortlessly take the edge off. Matte finishes absorb light and allow for us to rest in their humility. Silence is the new luxury.

 

cloche

Füerstenberg Blanc Weiss cloche www.füerstenberg-porzellan.com

 

tea set

Suomu Design TOFU tea set www.suomudesign.com

 

plates

Wasara Maru plates  www.wasara.jp

 

sculpture

Leblon Delienne Star Wars x Zaha Hadid sculpture www.leblon-delienne.com

 

Paola C

Paola C Vanity Collection www.paolac.com

 

pot

Aldo Bakker Pot www.aldobakker.com

 

lamp

Haymann Marie lamp  www.haymanneditions.fr

 

sofa

Ligne Roset Prado sofa www.ligne-roset.com

 

suspension

Lahumière Design éole suspension www.lahumieredesign.fr

 

L is for Layered

Textures and layered materials add dimension to functional forms and create new topography. Lighting becomes layered and luminous allowing for playful takes on modern lanterns. Stacked structures create tactile landscapes that call us to connect and caress. Light dances in and out of the shadows of shirred, pleated and ruched fabrics. 

 

light
 

Ong Cen Kuang Zipper light www.ockdesigns.com

 

pendants

Paola Paronetto pendants www.paola-paronetto.com

 

sculpture

Benoit Averly Wheels sculpture www.benoitaverly.com

 

cushion

Katsuki Connection cushion www.katsuki-c.com

 

Ooumm

Ooumm Orion and Sienna photophore www.ooumm.com

gold table

Luxxu Empire table  www.luxxu.net