Personnel Updates at GE Lighting, Authenticity Lighting and More

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
Maryrose Sylvester, GE Lighting

Maryrose Sylvester (pictured) has been named the new President and CEO of GE Lighting, taking over for Michael Petras, who is leaving the company. Sylvester has worked at GE for 23 years, including 14 at GE Lighting. Most recently, she has led GE Intelligent Platforms since 2006.

Brian Casey has resigned from his post as President and CEO of High Point Market Authority (HPMA), effective April 30. HPMA has begun a search for a replacement for Casey, who has held the position since 2006. "I would like to thank Brian Casey for the work he has done over the last five years," HPMA Chairman Kevin O’Connor said in a statement. "He has been a tireless advocate for furthering the brand of the High Point Market and we wish him all the best for his future endeavors." Casey will be the General Manager of the Cleveland Medical Mart and Convention Center.

Authenticity Lighting has added several independent sales representatives to its team, including Eastern Illuminations covering New England; KTR Assoc. covering the New York metro area; Vincent Ingato Sales covering eastern Pennsylvania and southern New Jersey; Zanger Assoc. covering the Mid-Atlantic; Doeren Sales covering Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and western Wisconsin; Pac-West Sales covering Washington, Oregon, Montana, Alaska and the Idaho panhandle; JPS Assoc. covering northern California and northern Nevada; Porter Lighting Sales covering Southern California, southern Nevada and Arizona; and CGE Sales covering Ontario.

Laura Dumas has been promoted to Vice President of Creative Services at the Dallas Market Center (DMC). Dumas joined DMC in 2000 as the Senior Director of Public Relations, and has since worked as Senior Director of Marketing and Senior Director of Creative Services.

LBL Lighting has named Michael Howell as the new Western Regional Sales Manager. Howell has 20 years of industry experience and previously worked in sales at Maxim Group’s ET2, Philips Group’s Forecast Lighting and Lightolier.

Howard P. Lewis, representing the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America, has been re-elected as Chair of the National Lighting Bureau. Also re-elected to Bureau offices were Vice Chair Cary S. Mendelsohn from the interNational Assn. of Lighting Management Companies (NALMCO), and Secretary/Treasurer James M. Yorgey from Lutron Electronics.

Halco Lighting Technologies has hired Cindy Ayala as the new Customer Service Manager. Ayala has worked as a customer service supervisor for 11 years.

Dr. Jose Sierra has been named the new Vice President of Customer Satisfaction at Lighting Science Group Corp. Prior to this, Sierra handled quality and continuous improvement at DRS Technologies.

Meyda Lighting has appointed Max Cohen as the company’s Upstate New York Area Sales Manager. Cohen, son of Meyda CEO Robert Cohen, will also continue to manage Meyda’s factory showroom in Yorkville, NY.

Nora Lighting has expanded the territory covered by showroom representatives Pat Mallory and Ken Black. Their territory now includes the Dallas/Fort Worth area in addition to Houston and southern Texas. Mallory and Black have worked for Nora Lighting since 1995.

WithIt, the women’s leadership network for home and furnishings professionals, recently announced its 2011 Board of Directors, with Mary Leigh Howell of RLF Communications taking over as President. Rounding out the Executive Committee are Liz O’Brien from EkornesStar Intl. and Carter Furniture as Chairman for the Board of Governors; Stephanie Lowder of Rare Bird Creative as Chairman; Julia Rosien of as Vice President/President Elect; Debbie Beers of Furniture Brands Intl. as Vice President; and Kira Staggers of Smith Leonard PLLC as Treasurer.

WithIt also announced the vice presidents who will head its various committees: Amanda Williams from Wray Ward (Marketing), Julie Smith Vincenti from Nine Muses Media LLC (Media), Lorri Kelley from Western US/Palliser (Mentoring), Cathy Smith from De Leo Textiles (Education), Cindy Williams of Info Retail (Membership) and Violette Forman from Havertys Furniture (Scholarship Foundation). The 2011 Vice President at Large officers, who serve as representatives of an industry niche, are Amy Voelker from (Millennial Outreach), Beverly Kastel from Ekornes (Casegoods/Upholstery), Libby Langdon from Libby Interiors Inc. (Supplier) and Shelley Parlin from PROFITsystems (Retail).

WithIt also has Regional Vice Presidents who are tasked with building membership and developing events within their geographic region. The 2011 officers are: Jana Platina Phipps of Home Couture Collective/Classical Elements (New York Metro/Northeast Region), Alexia Rouquette of Twin Star Intl./Classical Flame (Florida), Trisha Kemerly of WhipSmart Creative (Virginias/Carolinas), Joan Franken of Concepts & Designs (Chicago/Midwest), Cameron Cook of Four Hands (Dallas/Southwest), Kassie Smith of Kassie Smith Lifestyle Group (Las Vegas/West), and Donna Bartlett of ViewIt Technologies Inc. (International).

leaderboard2 - default