flexiblefullpage - default

ALA Recognizes Pillar of the Industry Winners and New Hall of Fame Inductee

The American Lighting Association honored members at its annual conference at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Vancouver, Canada.

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email

The American Lighting Association (ALA) recognized the winners of its Pillar of the Industry Awards and inducted a new Hall of Fame member at its annual conference in Vancouver, Canada this week.

At a special presentation on Tuesday, the American Lighting Association honored Pillar of the Industry Award winners Jon Sayah, President of Fleco Industries; Rick Seidman, President and CEO of Quoizel; and Jon McMahan, Owner and Partner at KTR Associates, LLC.

The Pillar of the Industry Awards recognize ALA members for their service to advance the lighting industry as well as the ALA.

Sayah is an involved ALA member and orchestrated the creation of the Larry Sayah Innovation Forum in 2015. The forum is hosted at each annual ALA Conference and celebrates members’ innovative ideas.

Seidman has served as a leader in many roles in the American Lighting Association, including the Manufacturers Steering Committee, the Membership Campaign Committee and as Secretary on the Board of Governors.

McMahan has sponsored ALA-member showrooms to attend the annual conference and he volunteers to serve the ALA membership campaign each year. He is also involved with the Young Executives Committee.

During the conference, Joe Rey-Barreau, AIA, IES was inducted to the Lighting Hall of Fame. Rey-Barreau is an architect and lighting designer with more than 30 years of experience and started working with the American Lighting Association as an education consultant and instructor in 1995. Since then, he has developed hundreds of lighting education courses and webinars for the industry.

Rey-Barreau is the Founder and Education Director of LED University, which offers online seminars focused on LED design trends and technology. He is also an associate professor with tenure at University of Kentucky’s College of Design.

leaderboard2 - default