flexiblefullpage - default

American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Elects New Officers and Board Members

David Gebhart, CEO, Global Views, has been elected board President.

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
David Gebhart
David Gebhart takes on the role of President.

The Board of Directors of the American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation has elected new officers and board members for 2019.

David Gebhart, CEO, Global Views, has been elected board President; Martin Ploy, President, AICO/Amini Innovation Corp., First Vice President; Caroline Hipple, President, Norwalk Furniture, Second Vice President; and Larry Rogers, consultant, Secretary-Treasurer. Jeffrey S. Child, President, R.C. Willey, will continue to serve on the executive committee as board Chairman.

New directors are Doug Collier, Senior Vice President, Chief Commercial Officer and President International, La-Z-Boy Incorporated; Bruce Cohenour, Senior Vice President of Sales and Merchandising, Bassett Furniture Industries; Amir Loloi, founder and President, Loloi Rugs; and Chad Spencer, CEO, Dufresne Spencer Group.

“The strength of any organization is dependent on its board and the leadership they provide,” says Gebhart. “We continue to look for strong leaders who will help the Hall of Fame accomplish its goals as we move towards a permanent home and expand the Leadership Initiative. The Hall of Fame has accomplished a great deal in the past few years but we have much more to accomplish in the near future. It can only be achieved by a fully engaged board that is committed to creating a Hall of Fame worthy of our industry.”

Re-elected members serving an additional three-year term are Child; Mark Phillips, CEO/President, Phillips Collection; Bob Sherman, CEO, Restonic Mattress Company; and David N. Swers, President and COO, Glen Raven Custom Fabrics, LLC.

A privilege of membership in the foundation is to nominate candidates for consideration for induction into the Hall of Fame, which closes on Feb. 10. Foundation membership is open to all home furnishings industry companies, organizations and individuals that do business in the United States. Memberships are available at various levels. To join, visit www.homefurnishingshalloffame.com. Checks may be made payable to American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation Inc. and sent to 202 Neal Place, Suite 101, High Point, NC 27262.

The 2019 inductees – individuals who have made significant contributions to the growth and development of the U.S. furniture industry – will be honored with the American home furnishings industry’s highest honor at the Induction Celebration on Sunday, Oct. 20 at the High Point Market. For information, call 336.882.5900.

leaderboard2 - default