flexiblefullpage - default

American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Hosts Third Annual Leadership Institute

Participating in this year’s American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Leadership Institute were 23 emerging leaders, from across the industry spectrum.

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
American Home Furnishings Association Leadership Institute attendees
The Home Furnishings Leadership Institute wraps up its third year.

The American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame held its third annual Leadership Institute for emerging industry leaders Feb. 18 to 22 at High Point University through its Executive Education program.

Participating in this year’s Institute were 23 emerging leaders, selected from a nominated pool of candidates nationwide and across a wide range of roles within the home furnishings industry. Launched in 2022, the mission of the Leadership Institute is to accelerate the growth of leadership in the home furnishings industry.

     “This was the first year that five Institute participants earned a Home Furnishings Leadership Fellow granted by High Point University upon completion of 120 hours of work focused on leadership development through in-depth keynote interviews with industry leaders, faculty lectures and coursework with their peers,” said Daniel Hall, Dean of the Earl N. Phillips School of Business. Throughout these sessions, Institute participants explored a central question relating to the theme of vision: How can you develop a clear vision that will lead, energize and inspire your team? Building on these discussions, the event also involved case studies with participants presenting solutions to a panel of judges. In addition, Leadership Institute participants engaged with Phillips School of Business students in two Executive Career Fair sessions focused on attracting talent to the industry. 
The inaugural Fellows are Sydney Harris, director of organizational development, Furnitureland South; Ryan Mahoney, senior vice president of leasing, ANDMORE; Troy Pittenger, vice president of finance, Norwalk Furniture; Shane Pohlman, director of furniture, Nebraska Furniture Mart and Erin Weir, co-founder, The Pearl Collective.  Each was honored with a crystal brick and a digital badge displayed on their LinkedIn profile.

“A critical element of the mission of the Hall of Fame is to inspire a new class of leaders,” said Karen McNeill, CEO and chairman of the Hall of Fame Foundation Board of Directors.  “We are impressed with what each of these young leaders has already achieved and look forward to seeing where they will lead the industry – as individuals and as a group – in the future.”

The 23 members of this year’s class of the Home Furnishings Institute were: Josh Fenner, Director of Sealy Brand, Tempur Sealy; Ronnie Fultz, Director of Sales Operations and Training, Hooker Furnishings; David Gibbons, Director of E-Commerce, STI Fabrics; Sydney Harris, Director of Organizational Development, Furnitureland South; Andy Kahan, Market Director, Regal Fabrics; Scott Kahan, Director of Business Development, Regal Fabrics; David Lee, Vice President of Business Development, Crestview Collection; Ryan Mahoney, Senior Vice President of Leasing, ANDMORE; Molly Mays, National Account and Development Manager, Uttermost; Chase McMann, Director of Business Development, Interior Talent; Jonathan Moore, Senior Purchasing and Logistics Manager, La-Z-Boy Incorporated; Jessica Norby, Senior Sales Director, Vivet/Markor; Eric Nyman, Director of Sales, Surya; Jessica Phillips, Vice President of Business Development, Phillips Collection; Troy Pittenger, Vice President of Finance, Norwalk Furniture; Shane Pohlman, Director of Furniture, Nebraska Furniture Mart; Zach Shilen, Vice President of Sales, Leather Italia USA; Luke Silver, President, Steve Silver Furniture; Paige Stalcup, Director of Operations, BOBO Intriguing Objects; Bo Stump, Partner, Stump & Co.;  Lindsey Walker, Director of Marketing Services, Hooker Furnishings; and Erin Weir, Co-Founder, Pearl Collective.

 This year’s Leadership Institute included a series of keynote interviews and challenge questions for interactive discussions with four distinguished industry leaders. They were Alex Peykar, 2023 Hall of Fame inductee and co-chairman and co-founder of Nourison Home; Kevin O’Connor, 2012 Hall of Fame inductee and co-founder of Samson Marketing; Brad Beauchamp, president and CEO of Carpenter Co.; and David Gebhart, founding partner and CEO of Global Views.

Fashioned after the prestigious Harvard Business School Seminar for the Young President’s Organization and Chief Executives Organization – attended by many leaders in the home furnishings industry – the Home Furnishings Leadership Institute is founded on the power and impact of peer learning gained through focused tutorials. The class is composed of proven leaders, innovators and achievers who aspire to greater achievement and impact within their companies, their industry and their communities. 

leaderboard2 - default