flexiblefullpage - default

Bienenstock Furniture Library Names Scholarship Winners

At its Future Designers Summit, Bienenstock Furniture Library has named three student scholarship winners. 

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
Jon Kannapell won the Verellen Scholarship
Jon Kannapell won the Verellen Scholarship.

The Bienenstock Furniture Library concluded its third annual Future Designers Summit, held Sep. 20-22, by awarding scholarships to three exceptional students.

Three industry sponsors contributed $5,000 each to the scholarship awards: Verellen, J Black Design and the Broyhill Family Foundation. 

The Verellen Furniture Scholarship winner is Jon Kannapell, Industrial/Furniture Design student at Appalachian State University. 

The John Black Scholarship was awarded to Elizabeth Brown, Interior Design student at High Point University.

This year’s Broyhill Family Foundation Scholarship recipient is Brianne Monaghan, Interior Design student at Savannah College of Art & Design (SCAD).

The students were three of 38 selected from 14 colleges and universities invited to attend. All submitted personal essays and provided work samples from their portfolios during the application process. 

The annual Future Designers Summit offers students an immersive three-day educational and networking experience. This year’s opening keynote address was presented by New York and Michigan-based Corey Damen Jenkins who inspired the students with a lively account of his path to success: building from one hard-earned client to become an internationally recognized interior designer.

Additional keynote presenters from the industry included Tammy Nagem, president and CEO, High Point Market Authority; and Patti Carpenter, trends forecaster and principal, carpenter + company.

“Meeting some of the pillars of this community offered a perspective I needed,” said Noah Martin, an industrial design student at Appalachian State University and summit participant. “From idea to production to eventual delivery, I have an understanding that will play a large role in my designs moving forward.”

Showroom and facility tours were hosted by the American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame, Currey & Company, Davis Furniture, Jessica Charles, Justin Staub Designs, Norwalk Furniture, Phillips Collection, THS Creative, Universal Furniture, and Verellen.

Verellen was additionally this year’s Platinum sponsor, pledging a total contribution of $20,000.

Event sponsors and contributors helped to offset the costs of travel, accommodations and meals for each student attendee, and covered expenses for the program’s development and marketing. 

leaderboard2 - default