Interior Design Society Announces 2021's Designer of the Year Winners

The Interior Design Society held a virtual celebration to announced the Designer of the Year Award winners. 

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
IDS, Designer of the Year Awards, Nicole Yee
Nicole Yee took home multiple awards at the IDS Designer of the Year gala, including Whole Home.

On Wednesday, November 10th, 2021 members and guests of  the Interior Design Society (IDS) gathered virtually to honor the winners of the 2021 Designer of the  Year competition.  
“The Designer of the Year Awards demonstrates our commitment to recognize the outstanding work  of our members nationwide” shared Jenny Cano, Executive Director, IDS. 
The virtual gala also honored Sheree Jeanes who received the 2021 Outstanding Leadership Award.  

The winners of the Designer of the Year Awards are:  

Space Designs:  

  • Kitchens $100,000 and above: Nicole Yee, NY Interiors 
  • Kitchens $50,000 - $100,000: Kim Bailey Interiors 
  • Kitchens $50,000 and below: Beyond Interior Design 
  • Bathrooms $60,000 and above: Nicole Yee, NY Interiors 
  • Bathrooms $30,000 - $60,000: Kara Bigos 
  • Bathrooms $30,000 and below: Tanna Edler  
  • Living Spaces $60,000 and above: Liz MacPhail Interiors 
  • Living Spaces $30,000 - $60,000: Jeanne Campana 
  • Living Spaces $30,000 and below: Design Vision Studio 
  • Bedrooms $50,000 and above: Penny Black Interiors 
  • Bedrooms $30,000 - $50,000: Starr Miller 
  • Bedrooms $30,000 and below: Kim Bailey Interiors 


Singular Areas 

  • Window Treatments: Michelle Stimpson 
  • Laundry, Craft, Closets and Pantries: Studio Steidley 
  • Outdoor Spaces: Nicole Arnold 
  • Powder Rooms: Meridith Ranouil 
  • Children’s Rooms: Jeanne Campana
  • Recreation Spaces: Nicole Yee, NY Interiors 
  • Dining Rooms: B.Clark Interior Design  
  • Home Office: Christine Conte 
  • Entry Way/ Foyer: Barbara Owens 

Specialty Awards 

  • Universal Design: Kerry McHugh Upton 
  • Sustainable Design: Nicole Yee, NY Interiors 
  • Sherwin-Williams Sponsor Award: Liz MacPhail Interiors 
  • Holiday Design: Nicole Yee, NY Interiors 
  • New Construction: Nicole Yee, NY Interiors  
  • Student Design Award: Deb Dunkelberg 
  • Whole Home 3,000 sqft and below: Starr Miller 
  • Whole Home 3,000 sqft and above: Nicole Yee, NY Interiors 

IMPACT Awards  

  • Individual Impact Award: Tanna Edler 
  • Industry Impact Award: Brad Clinard, High Point Financial Design

Related Content

Home Decor Color trends 2022
Colors for 2022 will continue to warm up for the coming year, such as this soft green on Sabai's Essential Chair.
There is a consumer segment out there that is looking for joy and color,” says Sonja Urich, Creat
IMC Webinar on Real Estate Insights
Dr. Lawrence Yun (left) and Bob Maricich will discuss real estate trends.
International Market Centers’ (IMC) November 2021 Market Insights explores real estate trends and
Last Look: Raili Clasen
Last Look: Raili Clasen's Mid Century Modern. Photo by David Tsay.
Operation Cover Shot
Get your design work on the cover of Furniture, Lighting & Decor's January cover!
Calling all designers!