Interior Design Society Announces Designer of the Year Award Recipients

The awards were presented virtually on Oct. 8.

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
Living Spaces $75,000 and above: Kirkendall Design
Kirkendall Design won in the Living Spaces $75,000 and Above category.

On Thursday, Oct. 8, 2020 members and guests of the Interior Design Society (IDS) gathered virtually to honor the winners of the 2020 Designer of the Year competition.  

“The Designer of the Year competition demonstrates our commitment to recognize the outstanding work of our members nationwide” shared Jenny Cano, Executive Director, IDS. “This year we received a record number of entries, our award-winners consider it a prestigious honor.”

The virtual gala also honored two individuals that received the 2020 Outstanding Leadership Award. Those recipients were Beth Clark of Portland, Oregon and Audrey Clawson of Charlotte, North Carolina.

The winners of the Designer of the Year competition are:

Space Designs:

  • Kitchens $100,000 and above: Interiors by Donna Hoffman
  • Kitchens $50,000 - $75,000: Melissa Lee – New South Home
  • Kitchens $50,000 and below: Tanna Edler – Tanna by Design
  • Bathrooms $75,000 and above: Kara A. Bigos
  • Bathrooms $30,000 - $75,000: Interiors by Donna Hoffman
  • Bathrooms $30,000 and below: Juliana Oliveira – Beyond Interior Design
  • Living Spaces $75,000 and above: Kirkendall Design
  • Living Spaces $30,000 - $75,000: Yates Desygn
  • Living Spaces $30,000 and below: Barbara Owens – Owens Interiors at Home  
  • Bedrooms $50,000 and above: Michele Youell- Natural Domain Interiors
  • Bedrooms $30,000 - $50,000: Traci Connell – Traci Connell Interiors
  • Bedrooms $30,000 and below: Bauer/Clifton Interiors

Singular Areas:

  • Window Treatments: Barbara Owens
  • Laundry, Craft, Closets and Pantries: Jeanne Campana Design
  • Outdoor Spaces: Mary Norris Interiors
  • Powder Rooms: Susy McBride Design
  • Children’s Rooms: Jeanne Campana Design
  • Recreation Spaces: Interiors by Donna Hoffman
  • Dining Rooms: Goddard Design Group
  • Home Office: Interiors by Donna Hoffman
  • Entry Way/ Foyer: Susan Hill – Susan Hill Interior Design

Specialty Awards

  • Universal Design: Bauer/Clifton Interiors
  • Sustainable Design: Michelle Rohrer-Lauer
  • Sherwin-Williams Sponsor Award: Barbara Owens
  • Holiday Design: Baker Design Group
  • New Construction: Lovetto Design
  • Student Design Award: Marlena Rhinehart
  • Whole Home 3,000 sqft and below: Shayla Copas
  • Whole Home 3,000 sqft and above: Yates Desygn


Individual Impact Award: Urbanology Designs

Group Impact Award: Dee Manicone, Nicole Delacruz and IDS Long Island

The full list of winners including design project photographs for this year’s Designer of the Year competition is available on the IDS website.

Related Content

Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash
The Home Furnishings Association (HFA) is acc
 Sy Gerber
Sy Gerber
The American Lighting Association (ALA) recognizes the newest ALA Lighting Hall of Fame inductee,
Hearts Awards Honorees
ART and Dallas Market Center have named the Hearts Award Honorees.
Dallas Market Center and
John D. Mineck Furniture Fellowship
A Clock Body, 2019 Photo: Lance Patterson; Windsor Comb Back Chair, 2019 Photo: Brady Connelly
The Society of Arts+Crafts in Boston (SA+C) announced that Massachusetts-born artist Aspen Golann