Interior Design Society Opens Submissions for 2021 Designer of the Year Awards

All entries submitted by March 3, 2021, will receive an early-bird discount.

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
Interior Design Society Designer of the Year Awards
Kirkendall Design won in the $75,000 and up living spaces category in 2020's Designer of the Year Awards.

It's that time of year again, interior designers... dust off your favorite projects completed between May 1, 2019 and December 31, 2020, to enter the Interior Design Society's Designer of the Year Awards. 

It's time! The 2021 Designer of the Year Awards are now open for submissions. And, from now until March 3rd, you will get 20 percent off each entry.

Winning a Designer of the Year Award can propel your business in an unimaginable way. There are over 30 categories to enter in residential design, including Recreational Spaces & Wine Cellars, Window Treatments, and Outdoor Spaces.

Due to unique challenges surrounding COVID-19, we've extended the project completion dates. This year, your project must have been completed between May 1, 2019 and December 31, 2020. This also means that if you entered a project last year (and didn't win) that falls into the required completion date range, you may enter it again this year.

All entries must be submitted through the IDS submissions portal. To access the portal, click the link below. If you have submitted in the past you may use your same login information. If you are new to the awards program, you will need to create an account. 

Some rules: 

  • All entries must be original to the designer submitting the project.
  • All entries must have taken place in a residential space. Commercial projects will be disqualified. 
  • Application questions should be answered fully. Failing to complete the application may result in disqualification or not meeting the minimum score required to be considered.
  • Applicants must be members in good standing of the Interior Design Society, or Sustainable Furnishings Council for the Sustainable Design Award. 
  • All submissions must be accompanied by a release form signed by the homeowner and photographer.


Questions? Direct them to [email protected]

Related Content

Candice Olson, interior design, high point market, ideastreams
Candice Olson is set to headline the spring IdeaStreams for High Point Market.
Candice Olson is set to headline the second edition of the High Point Market Authority’s virtual
Barbour Spangle Design
With a multi-faceted design portfolio, Barbour says residential design has helped Barbour Spangle continue to grow during the pandemic.
When I spoke with Christi Barbour, co-founder and half of the leadership team at Barbour Spangle
1stDibs​ has announced this year’s ​
Last Look, Clark & Clark Interiors
This room from Clark & Clark Interiors serves multiple purposes.
Pops of color, textures and multi-function are important characteristics used in the design of Cl